What information are you looking for? Please start your selection with either location or topic. Not all items are required. After you submit, you can narrow your results by year or health indicator or compare with another region. To get the best results, use reset button before starting a new search.
Search User Control
Location: Please select
Topic: Please select
Format: Please select
slides (0)


What are the HHS Regions?


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) divides the country into 10 regions with a regional office located within each one. They are:

  • Region 1-Boston: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
  • Region 2-New York: New Jersey, New York, and the territories Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. (Data for territories are not included in calculations on PeriStats.)
  • Region 3-Philadephia: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.
  • Region 4-Atlanta: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
  • Region 5-Chicago: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
  • Region 6-Dallas: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
  • Region 7-Kansas City: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska.
  • Region 8-Denver: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.
  • Region 9-San Francisco: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada and the territories American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau. (Data for territories are not included in calculations on PeriStats.)
  • Region 10-Seattle: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.

For more information on HHS regions and the contact information for each region, see .